OIST PhD Graduates

Graduated in 2017 (Total as of February 2017: 14)


Mark Daly

Supervisor: Professor Síle Nic Chormaic

Research Unit: Light-Matter Interactions Unit

Thesis: Light-induced interactions using optical near-field devices

Graduation Date: 2017 March 10


Lee O'Riordan

Supervisor: Professor Thomas Busch

Research Unit: Quantum Systems Unit

Thesis: Non-equilibrium vortex dynamics in rapidly rotating Bose-Einstein condensates

Graduation Date: 2017 March 10


Faisal Mahmood

Supervisor: Professor Ulf Skoglund

Co-Supervisor: Professor Hiroaki Kitano

Research Unit: Structural Cellular Biology Unit

Thesis: Algorithmic and architectural developments for cryo-electron tomography

Graduation Date: 2017 March 10


Mart Toots

Supervisor: Professor Ulf Skoglund

Research Unit: Structural Cellular Biology Unit

Thesis: Exploring the potential of cryo-electron tomography on protein nanocrystals for molecular structure determination

Graduation Date: 2017 July 18


Dongxin Zhang

Supervisor: Professor Fujie Tanaka

Research Unit: Chemistry and Chemical Bioengineering Unit

Thesis: Amine catalyzed functionalization of enolizable ketones

Graduation Date: 2017 August 14


Yi-Jyun Luo

Supervisor: Professor Noriyuki Satoh

Research Unit: Marine Genomics Unit

Thesis: Insights into lophotrochozoan evolution and the origin of morphological novelties from brachiopod, phoronid, and nemertean genomes

Graduation Date: 2017 August 14


Kenneth Baughman

Supervisor: Professor Noriyuki Satoh

Research Unit: Marine Genomics Unit

Thesis:  Decoding and analysis of the Crown-of-Thorns Starfish Acanthaster planci genome

Graduation Date: 2017 August 25


Rico Pohle

Supervisor: Professor Nic Shannon

Research Unit:  Theory of Quantum Matter Unit

Thesis:  Signatures of novel spin liquids in kagome-like lattices

Graduation Date: 2017 December 7


Zafer Hawash

Supervisor: Professor Yabing Qi

Research Unit: Energy Materials and Surface Sciences Unit

Thesis: Surface science studies of perovskite solar cells: spiro-MeOTAD hole transport material and perovskite absorber

Graduation Date: 2017 December 31


Caroline Starzynski

Supervisor: Professor Mitsuhiro Yanagida

Research Unit: G0 Cell Unit

Thesis: Investigating ancient metabolic reactions contributing to G0 quiescence survival in fission yeast S. pombe

Graduation Date: 2017 December 31


Cong Liu

Supervisor: Professor Evan Economo

Research Unit: Biodiversity and Biocomplexity Unit

Thesis: Understanding the ecological and evolutionary processes shaping ant biodiversity across spatiotemporal scales

Graduation Date: 2018 January 31 


Nino Espinas

Supervisor: Professor Hidetoshi Saze

Co-Supervisor: Professor Ulf Skoglund

Research Unit: Plant Epigenetics Unit

Thesis: rCBP-dependent regulation in rice innate immunity

Graduation Date: 2018 February 9


Keita Ikegami

Supervisor: Professor Noriyuki Satoh

Research Unit: Marine Genomics Unit

Thesis: Comparative transcriptome analysis of basal deuterostomes and its implications for the phylotypic stage

Graduation Date: 2018 February 9


Daisuke Takahashi

Supervisor: Professor Hirotaka Sugawara

Research Unit: Advanced Medical Instrumentation Unit

Thesis: Minimal gauged U(1) extension of the Standard Model with classical scale invariance and phenomenology

Graduation Date: 2018 February 21