OIST Mini Symposium "Fluid-Structure Interactions: From Engineering to Biomimetic Systems"


Tuesday, January 14, 2020 - 09:00 to Thursday, January 16, 2020 - 15:00


OIST Main Campus, Seminar Room C210


The accurate prediction of fluid-structure interactions (FSI) is crucial for the safe design of large scale engineering systems such as aircraft, bridges and tall buildings. However, knowledge of FSI is also relevant for understanding various micro-scale flows, for example biolocomotion and mucociliary clearance. Clearly, the range of relevant fluids is also wide, spanning Newtonian compressible and incompressible through non-Newtonian (e.g. polymeric) systems. Study of large scale Newtonian FSI is well established, though remains an active topic of research both experimentally and numerically. By contrast, study of FSI at small scales is an emergent topic still in its infancy, especially so with non-Newtonian fluids.

This mini-symposium will bring together world-leading researchers from the fields of engineering, rheology, applied mathematics and physics to review the current state-of-the‑art in characterizing and understanding FSI over a range of scales and fluidic systems, and encompassing fundamental to applied perspectives. The mini-symposium will also provide a forum for the initiation of collaborations between researchers at OIST and leading experts from the wider scientific community. These goals will be accomplished through 2.5 days of talks and informal discussions.

For further information, please visit the official website.

Professor Amy Shen (OIST, Japan)
Dr. Simon Haward (OIST, Japan)

Confirmed Invited Speakers
Professor Minami Yoda (Georgia Tech, USA)
Professor Roger Kamm (MIT, USA)
Professor Takuji Ishikawa (Tohuku University, Japan)
Professor Joung Sook Hong (Seoul National University, Korea)
Professor Jonathan Rothstein (UMass Amherst, USA)
Professor Anke Lindner (ESPCI, France)
Professor Alexander Morozov (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Professor Nate Cira (Harvard, USA)
Professor Shigeyuki Komura (Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan)
Professor Sangwoo Shin (University of Hawaii, USA)
Professor Kenta Ishimoto (Kyoto University, Japan)
Professor Patrick Anderson (TU Eindhoven, Netherlands)

Confirmed OIST Speakers
Professor Eliot Fried (Mathematics Mechanics and Materials Unit, OIST)
Dr. Cameron Hopkins (Micro/Bio/Nanofluidics Unit, OIST)
Dr. Daniel Carlson (Micro/Bio/Nanofluidics Unit, OIST)

Website URL

Sponsor or Contact: 
Micro/Bio/Nanofluidics Unit (Amy Shen, Professor)
All-OIST Category: 

Subscribe to the OIST Calendar: Right-click to download, then open in your calendar application.