[Seminar] "Molecular Spin Qubits for Quantum Computer and High-Density Memory Devices Based on Molecular Magnets" by Emeritus Prof. Masahiro Yamashita (Tohoku University, Japan)


Tuesday, February 7, 2023 - 17:30 to 18:30


L4E48 (Lab 4)


Please note:  time change:  16:00-17:00  → 17:30-18:30


"Molecular Spin Qubits for Quantum Computer and High-Density Memory Devices Based on Molecular Magnets"


Spintronics, based on the freedoms of charge and spin of the electron, is a key technology in the 21st century. Magnetic random access memory (MRAM), which uses giant magnetoresistance (GMR), has several advantages compared with electronics. Although conventional magnets composed of transition metals are normally used, in our study, we use molecule-based nano-magnets and single-molecule magnets (SMMs) to overcome “Moore`s Limitation”. SMMs are also available for quantum computer. I will talk about the molecular spin qubits for quantum computer ([1]Crystal Engineering Method, [2]g-Tensor Engineering Method, [3]Orbital Engineering Method, and [4]Molecular Technology Method) as well as high-density memory devices such as single-molecule memory device, SMMs encapsulated into SWCNT, and metallic conducting SMMs with negative magnetoresistances. 



Emeritus Professor Masahiro Yamashita, FRSC
Affiliation: Department of Chemistry, Graduate School of Science, Tohoku University, Japan



1982      Kyushu University (PhD)
1982      JSPS Post Doctor of Institute for Molecular Science
1983      Assistant Professor of Kyushu University
1987      Associate Professor of Nagoya University
1989-1990 Visiting Professor of University College London (UK)
1998      Professor of Nagoya University
1999      Professor of Tokyo Metropolitan University
2004-     Professor of Tohoku University
2016-     Lecture Professor of Nankai University (China)
2020-     Emeritus Professor of Tohoku University
2022-     Adjunct Professor of IISER Bhopal (India)
Awards & Distinctions:
2002   Inoue Scientific Award
2005   The Chemical Society of Japan Award for Creative Work for 2005
2006   Best Paper Award in J. Phys. Soc. Jpn.
2009     Associate Member of Science Council of Japan
2011     Award for International Conference Attraction (JNTO)
2013     Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC)
2014     Award of Japan Society of Coordination Chemistry
2019     Mukai Award
2019     Honorable Doctorate from University of Ss. Cyril and Methodius (Slovakia)
2019     The Chemical Society of Japan Award for 2019
2022     MOE Changjiang Chair Professorship (China)
All-OIST Category: 

Subscribe to the OIST Calendar: Right-click to download, then open in your calendar application.