Faculty Excellence in Mentoring Award

About the award

The Excellence in Mentoring Award recognizes the paramount role that inclusive mentoring plays in the professional development and career advancement of OIST students, postdoctoral scholars, and research staff, and the lifelong impact of excellent mentors. The award honors Faculty members’ demonstrable commitment to engender effective mentoring relationships and their ongoing efforts to cultivate productive, inclusive research environments.

Present and past award recipients 

2024- Dr. Franz Meitinger 

2023- Dr. Filip Husnik; honorable mention: Dr. Christine Luscombe

2022- Dr. Paola Laurino, honorable mention: Dr. Tadashi Yamamoto and Dr. Gail Tripp

2021- Dr. Kazumasa Tanaka

2020 - Dr. Amy Shen

2019 - Dr. Marylka Yoe Uusisaari & Dr. Thomas Busch

To view the 2024 Faculty Excellence in Mentoring Award citation and read more about the nomination process and criteria for the award, please visit the Center for Professional Development and Inclusive Excellence's (C-Hub) award page, HERE.