Internal Seminar Series

The OIST Internal Seminar Series is an informal meeting within the OIST community, where students, postdocs, research assistants and professors alike get to share a piece of their daily lives over free pizza/pastry. During a typical seminar, a speaker will introduce their unit or research field, discuss their latest results, or explain plans for future work.

One of the goals of the Internal Seminar Series is to foster an interdisciplinary, cooperative environment within OIST, where we can learn from each other and understand the motivations that drive research in fields we are not familiar with. This is based on the understanding that the activities at OIST are intrinsically interesting and worthwhile to learn about for curiosity's sake. Beyond this, there is the possibility that internal collaborations may spring up in unforeseen areas of research. We value the diversity of speakers: from students to professors, regardless of study field, age, race, and sex.

Seminars are organized every two weeks. Please see the "Calendar" or "Upcoming Events" links on the left for more information about upcoming seminars. Each seminar usually takes place in Lab 3 room C700 and starts at 16:00, after which there will be free pizza and beverages. The refreshment is financially supported by President's office, while they do not influence the topics, speakers, time, and venue of the seminars.

Interested in speaking at an Internal Seminar? Fill out the form or contact internalseminar@oist.jp

2021 Spring

Considering the COVID situation, all seminars this term will have both on-site and Zoom entries. The on-site audience number should be limited to half of the room capacity. (for example, C700 capacity 60 ppl => 30 people allowed)

January 14

Charles Whitaker (Immune Signal Unit)  
Deepak Bhat (Biological Complexity Unit)

January 28

Otis Brunner (Marine Biophysics Unit)
 

February 18

Leilee Chojnacki (Theory of Quantum Matter Unit)
Benjamin Clifton (Protein Enginneering and Evolution Unit)

March 4

Ianto Cannon (Complex Fluids and Flows Unit)
Eugene Khaskin (Science and Technology Group)

March 18

Julian Katzke (Biodiversity and Biocomplexity Unit)
Marleen Klann (Marine Eco-Evo-Devo Unit)

April 1

Ho Ching Chiu (Neural Computation Unit)

April 15

Eugene Kroll (Science and Technology Group)
Chenfeng Ding (Energy Materials and Surface Sciences Unit)

Current organizers:
  • Marylka Yoe Uusisaari (uusisaari@oist.jp)
  • Yasha Neiman (yaakov.neiman@oist.jp)
  • Sam Reiter (samuel.reiter@oist.jp)
  • Jigyasa Arora (jigyasa.arora@oist.jp)
  • Yuka Suzuki (yuka.suzuki@oist.jp)
  • Kun-Lung Li (kunlung.li@oist.jp)
  • Ainash Garifullina (ainash.garifullina@oist.jp)
  • Aleksandra Bliznina (aleksandra.bliznina2@oist.jp)
  • Lewis Ruks (lewis.ruks@oist.jp)
  • Mohamed Boubakour (mohamed.boubakour@oist.jp)
  • Lakshmipriya Swaminathan (lakshmipr.swaminathan@oist.jp)

Reach all current organizers at: internalseminar@oist.jp

Special thanks to Rina Matsumoto (President Office) for managing the budget and payment for internal seminars, Tomoko Yoshino (Mitarai Unit) for dealing with paper works for the payment, and Akiko Mizukoshi (University Community Services) for communicating with the cafe to provide refreshment.

 

Former organizers:
  • Jonathan Ward
  • Yunhui Zheng
  • Amy Shen
  • Eliot Fried
  • Stefan Pommer
  • Carolina Diaz
  • Tina Mularski
  • Oleg Simakov
  • Alexander Badrutdinov 
  • Omar Jáidar 
  • Marco Tsui 
  • Eiji Uchibe 
  • Hiroshi Izumi
  • Jérémie Gillet
  • Mary Ann Price
  • Shao Fang Wang
  • Romanas Chaleckis
  • Bianca Sieveritz
  • Lauren Dembeck
  • Robert Campbell
  • Andreas Thomasen
  • Jason Ball 
  • Maéva Techer 
  • Maggi Mars Brisbin
  • Afshan Jamshaid 
  • Fabien Benureau
  • Nadine Wirkuttis
  • Kamila Mustafina