Internal Seminar Series

The OIST Internal Seminar Series is an informal meeting within the OIST community, where students, postdocs, research assistants and professors alike get to share a piece of their daily lives over free pizza. During a typical seminar, a speaker shares their latest results, a plan for future work or some methodology they'd like to share.

One of the goals of the Internal Seminar Series is to foster an interdisciplinary, cooperative environment within OIST, where we can learn from each other and understand the motivations that drive research in fields we are not familiar with. This is based on the understanding that the activities at OIST are intrinsically interesting and worthwhile to learn about for curiosity's sake. Beyond this there is the possibility that internal collaborations may spring up in unforeseen areas of research.

Seminars are organized every two weeks. Please see the "Calendar" or "Upcoming Events" links on the left for more information about upcoming seminars. Each seminar takes place in Lab 3 room C700 and starts at 16:00, after which there will be free pizza and beverages.

Interested in speaking at an Internal Seminar? Please contact internalseminar@oist.jp

2019 Spring Seminars 

1 February
Yuna Hattori (Fluid Mechanics Unit) 
Bhanu Chouhan (Protein Engineering and Evolution Unit)

15 February
Tsung-Han Hsieh (Immune Signal Unit) 
Georgiy Tkachenko (Light-Matter Interactions Unit)

1 March
Ratnesh Gupta (Light-Matter Interactions Unit) 
Sigita Augustinate (Optical Neuroimaging Unit) 

15 March
Ivan Mbogo (Evolutionary Neurobiology Unit)
Luis Ono (Energy Materials and Surface Sciences Unit) 

29 March
Ayaka Usui (Quantum Systems Unit)
Greg Stephens (Biological Physics Theory Unit) 

12 April
Masakazu Taira (Neural Computation Unit)
Dhamodharan Venugopal (Nucleic Acid Chemistry and Engineering Unit)

Current organizers:
  • Marylka Yoe Uusisaari (uusisaari@oist.jp)
  • Yasha Neiman (yaakov.neiman@oist.jp)
  • Maggi Mars Brisbin (margaret.marsbrisbin@oist.jp)
  • Maéva Techer (maeva.techer@oist.jp)
  • Jigyasa Arora (jigyasa.arora@oist.jp)
  • Yuka Suzuki (yuka.suzuki@oist.jp)
  • Kun-Lung Li (kunlung.li@oist.jp)
  • Kamila Mustafina (kamila.mustafina@oist.jp)
  • Afshan Jamshaid (afshan.jamshaid@oist.jp)
  • Jason Ball (jason.ball@oist.jp)

Reach all current organizers at: internalseminar@oist.jp

Former organizers:
  • Jonathan Ward
  • Yunhui Zheng
  • Amy Shen
  • Eliot Fried
  • Stefan Pommer
  • Carolina Diaz
  • Tina Mularski
  • Oleg Simakov
  • Alexander Badrutdinov 
  • Omar Jáidar 
  • Marco Tsui 
  • Eiji Uchibe 
  • Hiroshi Izumi
  • Jérémie Gillet
  • Mary Ann Price
  • Shao Fang Wang
  • Romanas Chaleckis
  • Bianca Sieveritz
  • Lauren Dembeck
  • Robert Campbell
  • Andreas Thomasen