Internal Seminar Series

The OIST Internal Seminar Series is an informal meeting within the OIST community, where students, postdocs, research assistants and professors alike get to share a piece of their daily lives over free pizza. During a typical seminar, a speaker will introduce their unit or research field, discuss their latest results, or explain plans for future work.

One of the goals of the Internal Seminar Series is to foster an interdisciplinary, cooperative environment within OIST, where we can learn from each other and understand the motivations that drive research in fields we are not familiar with. This is based on the understanding that the activities at OIST are intrinsically interesting and worthwhile to learn about for curiosity's sake. Beyond this, there is the possibility that internal collaborations may spring up in unforeseen areas of research. We value the diversity of speakers: from students to professors, regardless of study field, age, race, and sex.

Seminars are organized every two weeks. Please see the "Calendar" or "Upcoming Events" links on the left for more information about upcoming seminars. Each seminar takes place in Lab 3 room C700 and starts at 16:00, after which there will be free pizza and beverages. The refreshment is financially supported by President's office, while they do not influence the topics, speakers, time, and venue of the seminars.

Interested in speaking at an Internal Seminar? Please contact internalseminar@oist.jp

2019 Fall Seminars 

17 January
Soshi Mizutani (Theory of Quantum Matter Unit) 
Thomas Fogarty (Quantum Systems Unit)

31 January

No seminar

14 February
Kimberly Remund (Theory of Quantum Matter Unit)
Daria Gavriouchkina (Molecular Genetics Unit)

28 February
Kun-Lung Li (Evolutionary Neurobiology Unit)
Riccardo Funari (Microfluidics Unit)

13 March
San To Chan (Microfluidics Unit)
Jaekyung Hyun (Molecular Cryo-Electron Microscopy Unit)

27 March
Tsung-Yen Huang (Immune Signals Unit)
Wenliang Li (Mathematical and Theoretical Physics Unit)

10 April
Joel Perez Urquizo (Femtosecond Spectroscopy Unit)
Takeshi Takeuchi (Marine Genomics Unit)

 

Current organizers:
  • Marylka Yoe Uusisaari (uusisaari@oist.jp)
  • Yasha Neiman (yaakov.neiman@oist.jp)
  • Jigyasa Arora (jigyasa.arora@oist.jp)
  • Yuka Suzuki (yuka.suzuki@oist.jp)
  • Kun-Lung Li (kunlung.li@oist.jp)
  • Kamila Mustafina (kamila.mustafina@oist.jp)
  • Afshan Jamshaid (afshan.jamshaid@oist.jp)
  • Nadine Wirkuttis (nadine.wirkuttis@oist.jp)
  • Fabien Benureau (fabien.benureau@oist.jp)

Reach all current organizers at: internalseminar@oist.jp

Former organizers:
  • Jonathan Ward
  • Yunhui Zheng
  • Amy Shen
  • Eliot Fried
  • Stefan Pommer
  • Carolina Diaz
  • Tina Mularski
  • Oleg Simakov
  • Alexander Badrutdinov 
  • Omar Jáidar 
  • Marco Tsui 
  • Eiji Uchibe 
  • Hiroshi Izumi
  • Jérémie Gillet
  • Mary Ann Price
  • Shao Fang Wang
  • Romanas Chaleckis
  • Bianca Sieveritz
  • Lauren Dembeck
  • Robert Campbell
  • Andreas Thomasen
  • Jason Ball 
  • Maéva Techer 
  • Maggi Mars Brisbin