Living Longer and Healthier – Blue Zones and Aging in the U.S. and Japan

Date

2021年4月16日 (金) 8:00 9:00

Location

Zoom link will be provided upon registration

Description

OIST Foundation x Japan America Society of Dallas/Fort Worth Present:

 Living Longer and Healthier – Blue Zones and Aging in the U.S. and Japan

U.S.:  Thursday, April 15
4:00 PM PDT
6:00 PM CDT
7:00 PM EDT

Japan:  Friday, April 16 @ 8:00 AM JST

 

Join the OIST Foundation and Japan-America Society of Dallas/Fort Worth for a virtual program that will examine aging through the lenses of biology, philosophy, and policy with a goal of shedding light on ways to live longer, healthier lives. This event will touch upon scientific aspects of aging including dementia, offer a bold philosophical reimagining of what life at an advanced age can be, and provide insights into lessons from the blue zones, including Okinawa, Japan, which is home to some of the oldest people on the planet. The U.S. and Japan have much to offer each other in terms of lessons about aging and our dialogue intends to deepen bilateral dialogue on this topic with potential global implications.

Panelists
Dr. Jean Accius
Senior Vice President, AARP Global Thought Leadership

Dr. Thomas Benson
Executive Director, International Association for Senior Debate
President Emeritus, Green Mountain College, Poultney, VT

Ms. Lauren Dunning
Director, Milken Institute Center for the Future of Aging

Dr. Mitsuhiro Yanagida
Professor, G0 Cell Unit, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University (OIST)



Moderators
David Janes, Managing Director and Secretary, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Foundation and Senior Advisor for Institutional Development, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University

Paul Pass, Executive Director, Japan-America Society of Dallas/Fort Worth

Register here.
All-OIST Category: 

Subscribe to the OIST Calendar: Right-click to download, then open in your calendar application.