Upcoming Events

Limit results by category:

Recreation

*BeActive Fitness Classes*

Tuesday, January 17, 2023 - 09:00 to Saturday, February 11, 2023 - 17:00
Village Center Meeting Room and Ocean View Meeting Room
BeActive Fitness Classes

BeActive OIST Fitness Classes have limited numbers and new safety guidelines.

Visit webpage for more information on available classes and times.

Please visit our website to register!

Recreation

Ocean Safety Course

Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - 10:30 to 12:00
B250

Learn the skills neccessary to enter the water safely, through ocean risk assessment and management.

Recreation

Basic Life Support Course (non-certification)

Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - 14:00 to 16:00
B250

Ocean Safety Course and Basic Life Support Course

Campus Service

[RC] Insurance Company Visits OIST

Wednesday, February 1, 2023 - 11:00 to 15:00
Resource Center Center Bldg next to the ATM

English-speaking insurance agent Wiltec in Chatan visits OIST. [When]11:00-15:00 [Where]Resource Center in the Center Building(right next to the ATM)

External Events

The 30th Board of Councilors Meeting

Thursday, February 2, 2023 (All day)

Please address inquiries to the President's Office.

Recreation

Uke Club Meeting - Seaside Lounge

Thursday, February 2, 2023 - 09:00
Seaside Lounge

This week we will focus on developing a repertoire of facial expressions to make while playing ukulele solos.

Recreation

Sanshin classes by Satsuki Agena (January to March)

Thursday, February 2, 2023 - 18:00 to 20:15
Plumeria Lounge in the Gardens Housing

Sanshin classes by Satsuki Agena (January to March)

Recreation

佐古クミ先生のハタ・ヨガ教室

Friday, February 3, 2023 - 07:30 to 08:30
オーシャンビュールーム

佐古クミ先生のハタ・ヨガ教室

Wellness

Mindfulness Meditation Practice

Friday, February 3, 2023 - 12:15 to 12:35
C210 or Zoom

Mindfulness Meditation practice group.

Ganjuu Wellbeing Service is inviting you to a Mindfulness Practice Group. Practice starts at 12:15pm. You can join us in C210 or via zoom. We look forward to seeing you.

Recreation

Cosmos screening (episode 8)

Friday, February 3, 2023 - 18:00
Lab 4 discussion space (F22c)

Cosmos episode 8: Journeys in Space and Time

Recreation

Morning Yoga Classes by Miya Taillefer

Monday, February 6, 2023 - 07:30 to 10:45
Ocean View Room

Yoga Therapy Exercise Classes by Miya Taillefer

Professional Development

Survival Japanese for Absolute Beginners

Tuesday, February 7, 2023 - 11:00 to 12:00
Lab2, C600B

Seminars will be held on Tuesdays st C600B in Lab2 from 11AM to Noon. Please note that space is limited to the first 20 people who enter the room.

Campus Service

[RC] Insurance Company Visits OIST

Wednesday, February 8, 2023 - 11:00 to 15:00
Resource Center Center Bldg next to the ATM

English-speaking insurance agent Wiltec in Chatan visits OIST. [When]11:00-15:00 [Where]Resource Center in the Center Building(right next to the ATM)

Recreation

Sanshin classes by Satsuki Agena (January to March)

Thursday, February 9, 2023 - 13:35 to 20:15
Plumeria Lounge in the Gardens Housing

Sanshin classes by Satsuki Agena (January to March)

Holiday

建国記念の日 Foundation Day

Saturday, February 11, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Campus Service

[RC] Insurance Company Visits OIST

Wednesday, February 15, 2023 - 11:00 to 15:00
Resource Center Center Bldg next to the ATM

English-speaking insurance agent Wiltec in Chatan visits OIST. [When]11:00-15:00 [Where]Resource Center in the Center Building(right next to the ATM)

External Events

The 38th Board of Governors Meeting

Thursday, February 16, 2023 (All day)

Please address inquiries to the President's Office.

Training

[Training] COMSOL Multiphysics® Bimonthly Training By COMSOL Japan

Thursday, February 16, 2023 - 14:00 to 15:00
Web

If you are interested in solving heat transfer problems using COMSOL Multiphysics ® , this is the online seminar for you.

Program 14:00 – 15:00 JST

Campus Service

[RC] Insurance Company Visits OIST

Wednesday, February 22, 2023 - 11:00 to 15:00
Resource Center Center Bldg next to the ATM

English-speaking insurance agent Wiltec in Chatan visits OIST. [When]11:00-15:00 [Where]Resource Center in the Center Building(right next to the ATM)

Holiday

天皇誕生日 Emperor’s birthday

Thursday, February 23, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Campus Service

[RC] Insurance Company Visits OIST

Wednesday, March 1, 2023 - 11:00 to 15:00
Resource Center Center Bldg next to the ATM

English-speaking insurance agent Wiltec in Chatan visits OIST. [When]11:00-15:00 [Where]Resource Center in the Center Building(right next to the ATM)

Holiday

春分の日 Vernal Equinox Day

Tuesday, March 21, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Recreation

TSVP Teatime

Thursday, March 23, 2023 - 16:00
Lab 4 Level D Break Area (L4D01)

"TSVP Teatime": informal discussions and getting to know each other

External Events

The 4th International Conference on Data Driven Plasma Sciences (ICDDPS-4)

Sunday, April 16, 2023 (All day) to Friday, April 21, 2023 (All day)
OIST Conference Center

This is an externally organized event, For more information please go the conference website .

Holiday

昭和の日 Showa Day

Saturday, April 29, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Holiday

憲法記念日 Constitution Day

Wednesday, May 3, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Holiday

みどりの日 Greenery Day

Thursday, May 4, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Holiday

こどもの日 Children’s Day

Friday, May 5, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

External Events

LONGEVITY AND HEALTHY AGEING: WHAT CAN WE LEARN FROM BLUE ZONES?

Friday, May 12, 2023 - 08:30 to Saturday, May 13, 2023 - 17:00
OIST Conference Center

This is a "Key Symposium" arranged by the Journal of Internal Medicine and the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. For more information please go the symposium's website .

Graduate School

Graduation Ceremony 2023

Friday, May 19, 2023 - 14:00 to 16:00
OIST Auditorium

The Graduation Ceremony to award degrees to students who have graduated in the period May 2022 to April 2023.

Holiday

海の日 Marine Day

Monday, July 17, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Holiday

山の日 Mountain Day

Friday, August 11, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Graduate School

Welcome to Class of 2023 New Students

Friday, September 1, 2023 - 10:30
OIST Auditorium

Welcome Ceremony for Class of 2023 New Students

Holiday

敬老の日 Respect for the Aged Day

Monday, September 18, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Holiday

秋分の日 Autumnal Equinox Day

Saturday, September 23, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Holiday

スポーツの日 Sports Day

Monday, October 9, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Holiday

文化の日 Culture Day

Friday, November 3, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday

Holiday

勤労感謝の日 Labor Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 23, 2023 - 00:00

National holiday