OIST International Workshop on Novel Quantum Materials and Phases


The OIST International Workshop on Novel Quantum Materials and Phases (NQMP 2014)


NQMP2014, hosted by OIST's Theory of Quantum Matter Unit, took place from Wednesday 14th May - Saturday 17th May, 2014.

The workshop brought together more than 90 scientists from a wide range of backgrounds with a common interest in new materials and novel states of quantum matter.    Talks were organised in 5 broad themes :

1.  New directions in materials
2.  Unconventional superconductivity
3.  Quantum spin systems and frustrated magnetism
4.  Low-dimensional and topological systems
5.  Applications of novel materials

Workshop Organizers :

  • Hiroshi Kageyama (Kyoto University)
  • Yukitoshi Motome (University of Tokyo)
  • Nic Shannon (OIST)

Programm Committee :

Chair :

  • Zenji Hiroi (University of Tokyo)

Committee Members :

  • Taka-hisa Arima (University of Tokyo)
  • Bruce Gaulin (McMaster)
  • Nigel Hussey (HFML Nijmegen)
  • Hikaru Kawamura (Osaka University)
  • Peter Littlewood (Argonne National Laboratory)
  • Andrew MacKenzie (MPI-CPfS)
  • Roderich Moessner (MPI-PKS)
  • Hidenori Takagi (University of Tokyo & MPI-FKF)