ISQA - Information Security in the Quantum Age

16-20 March 2020 Okinawa, Japan

Uncompromisable information security can be only achieved by relying on unshakeable scientific principles in mathematics or physics. It is therefore directly connected to progress in fundamental research in both of these area and requires constant progress to advance.

However, to translate these results into useable technology and to maintain everyday security within the current technology, is a just as important goal to achieve.

In alignment with the goal of the Government of Japan to put quantum cryptography into practical use from 2025, this meeting will bring together Japanese and international  forefront researchers in experimental and theoretical approaches, to discuss the current status, make valuable connections and outline required future progress.

The number of participants is limited to about 50.

Location: OIST Seaside House, Okinawa, Japan


  • Rotem Arnon-Friedman (UC Berkeley, USA)
  • Roger Colbeck (University of York, UK)
  • Thomas Jennewein (University of Waterloo, Canada, to be confirmed)
  • Troy Lee (University of Technology Sydney, Australia)
  • Vadim Makarov (Russian Quantum Center, Russia)
  • Jian-Wei Pan  (University of Science and Technology of China)
  • Renato Renner (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Gregoire Ribordy (ID Quantique, Switzerland)
  • Daniel Shiu (GCHQ, UK)
  • Akihisa Tomita (Hokkaido University, Japan)
  • Lum Chune Yang (SpeQtral)
  • Tracy Northup (Innsbruck University, Austria)
  • Kae Nemoto (NII, Japan)
  • Najwa Aaraj (Crypto Center, UAE)
  • Antoine Joux (Sorbonne Université, France)
  • Jose Ignacio Latorre (Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
  • Patrick Rebentrost (CQT, Singapore)
  • Hideo Kosaka (Yokohama National University, Japan)
  • Tanizawa Yoshimichi (Toshiba, Japan)

More to be announced

Important Dates:

  • Application Open: 6 September 2019
  • Application Deadline: 24 October 2019
  • Notification of Application Results: December 2019
  • Participants arrive in Okinawa: 15 March 2020
  • Participants depart Okinawa:  21 March 2020
  • Main Details: The conference fee is 10,000 JPY. Twin-share accommodation at Seaside House and meals for all workshop participants will be provided if required. OIST will also help with arranging visas where necessary. We offer a number of bursaries to cover up to 50% of the participants air-travel costs and can, in exceptional cases, also cover the full costs.

Excursion: TBD


  • Artur Ekert, University of Oxford (UK) and CQT (Singapore)
  • Thomas Busch, OIST Graduate University (Japan)
  • Síle Nic Chormaic, OIST Graduate University (Japan)
  • Nobu Imoto, Osaka University (Japan) 
  • Isaac Ben Israel, ICRC - Blavatnik Interdisciplinary Cyber Research Center (Israel) 
  • Miklos Santha, CNRS (France) and CQT (Singapore)